The Metabolic Centre is the heart of the research

The Metabolic Centre is used to perform various experiments with different animal species:

  • Horses, cattle, sheep, goats, pigs, camelids, selected zoo animals, poultry and cats.

Photos of the Metabolic Centre

Photos taken on 29.08.2017 / Sergej Amelchanka

The Metabolic Centre comprises the following four research units:

  • Metabolism house with 24 spaces for tethered cattle, with one half of the barn which can be used either as a freestall barn or a deep litter barn:
    • Measurement of milk performance
    • Collection of faeces and urine from individual animals
    • Individually prepared feed with weighing plate
  • Respiration Chambers
    • 4 chambers for cattle
    • 4 chambers for pigs, goats, sheep and young cattle 
    • 4 chambers for poultry, rabbits, cats
  • Further animal spaces

    • 2 barns for large animals, not air-conditioned
    • 1 sheep barn with 8 bays, not air-conditioned
    • 1 goat and pig barn with 8 bays, air-conditioned
    • 1 pig unit (air-conditioned with 8 bays)
    • Poultry houses, air-conditioned with light control
    • Rabbit pen 
    • 2 cat rooms
    • Various feed and sample preparation rooms

Layout of the Metabolic Centre

Stücheli Architekten

Metabolism house

The metabolism house offers space for 24 cattle tethered in two rows, and one side can be used as a freestall barn with a deep litter area for smaller ruminant animals or for suckler cows with their calves when being used for experiments. The facilities allow individual measurements of feed intake by balances by METTLER TOLEDO and individual and quantative collection of faeces and urine when tethered. The metabolism house can also be adapted to tether beef cattle whose gas exchange will then be measured in the respiration chambers.

Photos of the metabolism house

Photos taken in 2017 / Sergej Amelchanka

Respiration facility

The 12 respiration chambers are located in 3 rooms (4 in each room). There are 3 different sizes of respiration chambers for measurements of big animals (e.g. dairy cows and stock cattle), medium sized animals (e.g. goats, sheep, pigs, young cattle) or small animals (e.g. poultry, rabbits, cats). In the respiration chambers the gas exchange of the animals is measured i.e. oxygen use and carbon dioxide and methane emission. This allows energy balances to be created and methane emissions to be quantified.   

Photos Respiration facility

Photos from 30.08.2017 and 15.11.2017 / Sergej Amelchanka

Various barns for experiments

For research and education purposes various barns are available for horses, cattle, sheep, goats, pigs, camelids, selected zoo animals, poultry and cats. 

Horses / Cattle

The two barns for large animals both have a big group box for 4 horses with a yard, as well as 3 individual boxes for experiments on horses or cattle. 

Livestock barns

There are three barns for small livestock. One is for sheep and contains 8 bays (non air-conditioned). The other two each have 8 bays for either goats, sheep or pigs. One barn with 8 bays is specifically for pigs. These two barns are for special experiments and are therefore air-conditioned.

Poultry houses

On the upper floor there are three houses for poultry. One house is for breeding, another for broilers and the third for laying hens. These rooms are air-conditioned with light control and allow for data to be collected on feed consumption, performance and quality of eggs, carcasses and meat of individual animals.

Rabbit pen

On the upper floor is a pen for rabbits. They are kept for the production of antibodies for laboratory analysis. Experiments with individual animals are also possible. Rabbit breeding and fattening is also possible - the pens can hold both young and adult animals of various breeds.

Cat rooms

On the upper floor are two rooms for cats or similar small animals. The cats are kept for experiments on feed and faeces consistency as well as for metabolic experiments. The animals are kept either in individual boxes or in groups. One of the two rooms is used for the free movement of animals being kept in individual boxes.

Suisse Tier - National Trade Fair for Farm Animal Husbandry

At Suisse Tier from 22 to 24 November 2019 you will meet leading suppliers and experts from the entire Swiss livestock industry. AgroVet-Strickhof will be there, visit us at our stand. Link to the Suisse Tier Homepage

AgroVet-Strickhof Conference

The first AgroVet-Strickhof conference will take place on 1 July 2019. Secure a seat and register today.

Click here for the article

AgriTech Day

Agriculture of the Future – digital and sustainable?

Link to the article

http://www.ethz.ch/agritech

More environmentally friendly cows

Bovines eat a lot of soya and are the big emitters of greenhouse gases and the air pollutant ammonia. New feed additives for ruminants and an innovative cow toilet will help. Link to the article

Anwendungen und Nutzen des Stoffwechselzentrums:

Waagen von METTLER TOLEDO dienen der Forschung für Tierernährung

Das Stoffwechselzentrum ist das Herz der Forschung

Das Stoffwechselzentrum ist auf die Durchführung verschiedener Versuche mit unterschiedlichen Tierspezies ausgerichtet:

  • Pferde, Rinder, Schafe, Ziege, Schweine, Neuweltkameliden und ausgewählte Zootiere sowie Geflügel und Katzen.

Fotos des Stoffwechselzentrum

Fotos vom 29.08.2017 / Sergej Amelchanka

Das Stoffwechselzentrum besteht aus den folgenden Forschungseinheiten:

  • Stoffwechselstall mit 24 Tierplätzen für Rindvieh in Anbindehaltung, wobei die eine Hälfte des Stalles auch als Laufstall mit Tiefstreue benutzt werden kann:
    • Messung von Milchleistung
    • Kot- und Harnsammlung am Einzeltier
    • Einzelfuttererhebung mit Wiegeplatten
  • Respirationskammern
    • 4 Kammern für Rinder
    • 4 Kammern für Schweine, Ziegen, Schafe und Jungvieh Rind
    • 4 Kammern für Geflügel, Kaninchen, Katzen
  • Weitere Tierräume
    • 2 Grosstierställe, nicht klimatisiert
    • 1 Schafstall mit 8 Buchten, nicht klimatisiert
    • 1 Ziegen- respektive Schweinestall mit 8 Buchten, klimatisiert
    • 1 Schweinstall (klimatisiert mit 8 Buchten)
    • Geflügelställe, klimatisiert und Lichtsteuerung
    • Kaninchenstall
    • 2 Katzenräume
    • Verschiedene Futter- und Probenvorbereitungsräume

Pläne des Stoffwechselzentrum

Stücheli Architekten, Zürich

Stoffwechselstall

Der Stoffwechselstall ist für 24 Stück Rindvieh in zwei Reihen Anbindehaltung eingerichtet, wobei eine Seite als Freilaufstall mit Tiefstreubereich umfunktioniert werden kann, um auch kleinere Wiederkäuer oder beispielsweise Mutterkühe mit Kälbern in Versuchen halten zu können. Die Einrichtungen erlauben Einzelmessungen der Futteraufnahme mit Waagen der Firma METTLER TOLEDO sowie – in Anbindehaltung – die tierindividuelle quantitative Sammlung von Kot und Harn. Der Stoffwechselstall kann auch für die Adaptation an die Anbindehaltung von Rindvieh, deren Gaswechsel anschliessend in den Respirationskammern gemessen wird, genutzt werden.

Fotos des Stoffwechselstall

Fotos 2017 / Sergej Amelchanka

Respirationsanlage

Die insgesamt 12 Respirationskammern sind in drei Räumen untergebracht. Pro Raum werden jeweils vier Respirationskammern verfügbar sein, die aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Grössen entweder für Messungen an Grosstieren (z.B. Milchkühe, Mastrinder), mittelgrossen Tieren (z.B. Ziegen, Schafe, Schweine, Jungvieh Rind) oder Kleintieren (z.B. Geflügel, Kaninchen, Katzen) genutzt werden können. In den Respirationskammern wird der Gasaustausch der Tiere gemessen, d.h., der Sauerstoffverbrauch sowie die Kohlendioxid- und Methanabgabe. Diese Versuchsanlage ermöglicht dank der Erfassung des Gasaustausches das Erstellen von Energiebilanzen sowie die Quantifizierung der Methanemissionen.

Fotos Respirationsanlage

Fotos von August und November 2017 / Sergej Amelchanka

Verschiedene Versuchsställe

Für die Forschung und Lehre an Pferden, Rindern, Schafen, Ziegen, Schweinen, Neuweltkameliden und ausgewählten Zootieren sowie Geflügel und Katzen stehen verschiedene Ställe zur Verfügung.

Pferde / Rinder

Bei den beiden Grosstierställen ist je Stall eine grosse Gruppenbox für je 4 Pferde mit befestigtem Auslauf. Zudem hat es je Stall noch 3 Einzelboxen für Versuche, entweder für Pferde oder Rinder.

Nutztierställe

Es gibt drei Ställe für kleine Nutztiere. Davon ist einer mit 8 Buchten für Schafe vorgesehen (nicht klimatisiert). Zwei weitere mit je 8 Buchten sind für Ziegen, Schafe oder Schweine multifunktional eingerichtet. Davon ist ein Stall mit 8 Buchten spezifisch für Schweine eingerichtet. Die beiden letzten sind für spezielle Versuchsanordnungen und darum klimatisiert.

Geflügelräume

Im Obergeschoss des Kopfteils sind insgesamt drei Ställe für die Haltung von Geflügel vorgesehen. Dabei handelt es sich einerseits um je einen Stall für die Aufzucht, einen für die Mast von Broilern und ein Stall für die Haltung von Legehennen. Diese Räume sind klimatisiert und haben ein Lichtprogramm. In diesen Geflügelräumen können u.a. Daten zu Futterverzehr, Leistung sowie Qualität von Eiern, Schlachtkörpern und Fleisch auf Einzeltierbasis erhoben werden.

Kaninchenstall

Im Obergeschoss des Kopfteiles ist ein Stall für die Kaninchenhaltung. Die Tiere werden in Abteilen v.a. zum Zweck der Antikörpergewinnung für Laboranalysen gehalten. Es sind auch Versuche mit Erhebungen auf Einzeltierbasis möglich. Es besteht die Möglichkeit, Kaninchenzucht und -mast zu betreiben, das heisst sowohl Jungtiere wie ausgewachsene Kaninchen verschiedener Rassen zu halten.

Katzenräume

Im Obergesoss des Kopfteiles gibt es zwei Räume für die Haltung von Katzen oder vergleichbaren kleineren Tieren. Die Katzen werden v.a. für die Durchführung von Fütterungs- und Kotkonsistenzversuchen respektive für Stoffwechselversuche gehalten. Die Tiere werden dafür in Einzelboxen oder in Gruppenhaltung gehalten, wobei einer der zwei Räume als Auslauf für die Tiere in Einzelboxen dient.


AgroVet-Strickhof Tagung

Die erste AgroVet-Strickhof Tagung findet am 1. Juli 2019 statt. Sichern Sie sich einen Platz und melden Sie sich heute noch an.

Hier gehts zum Eintrag

AgriTech Day

Landwirtschaft der Zukunft –digital und nachhaltig?

Link zum Eintrag

http://www.ethz.ch/agritech

Umweltfreundlichere Kühe

Rinder fressen viel Soja und sind die grossen Emittenten von Treibhausgasen und dem Luftschadstoff Ammoniak. Neuartige Futterzusätze für Wiederkäuer und eine innovative Kuhtoilette sollen Abhilfe schaffen. Link zum Artikel