Alp Weissenstein Site (Bergün GR)

The facilities at Alp Weissenstein allow for research to be carried out on cattle of all ages and both sexes during the summer months. Most important are the effects of the altitude (2000 metres above sea level) on the performance of the animals, the quality of milk and meat, feed consumption, and the health and metabolism of the cattle. The animals can graze on specific allotments or be tethered and milked in a barn offering space for 12 cows. For research into suckler cows and their calves, a deep litter area can be created in the barn.

Photos from Alp Weissenstein

Taken using a drone on 15. August 2017 by Thomas Widmer, post production by Malgorzata Sitnik. Further photos by Malgorzata Sitnik from15. August 2017.

For research

Since 1967 the ETH Zurich has owned the Alp Weissenstein site, located below the Albula Pass in the Kanton of Grisons at an altitude of 1900 to 2600 metres above sea level. The research station has a surface area of 234 hectares and an additional 200 hectares of leased land, offering summer pastures for roughly 150 large livestock units (dairy cows, suckler cows, young cattle, sheep and horses) for 75 to 80 days. The operational buildings, which are locted at 2000 metres above sea level, include living quarters for employees and researchers, and barns with feed storage in the case of an onset of winter and snow. They also offer the opportunity to carry out balance experiments with beef cattle indoors, and laborartory facilities for sample preparation. Mobile facilities such as a mobile milking parlour and cattle scales make it possible for experiments to be carried out on the pasture. In 2015 the residential building was completely renovated and Alp Weissenstein was integrated into the IT network of the ETH Zurich. The cow barn's interior was rebuilt and flexible housing systems for research purposes. An exercise yard was added to the barn.  

Research is focused on alternative use of alp pastures by sustainable livestock systems and on the physiological and ecological effects of alpine farming. Research projects involve dairy cows, suckler cows, breeding cattle and sheep. The location of the research station also offers excellent opportunities to study high alpine vegetation which grows on different soils (bedrock). Gas emissions from the grassland are recorded throughout the year.

The facilities at Alp Weissenstein allow for research to be carried out on cattle of all ages and both sexes during the summer months. Most important are the effects of the altitude (2000 metre above sea level) on the performance of the animals, the quality of milk and meat, feed consumption, and the health and metabolism of the cattle. The animals can graze on specific allotments or be tethered and milked in a barn offering space for 12 cows. For research into suckler cows and their calves, a deep litter area can be created in the barn. 

Flight by drone

Taken using a drone on 6. August 2017 by Thomas Widmer, post production by Malgorzata Sitnik and Joël Bérard.

Milestones

  • 800 AD: Mention of the Albula as an important crossing
  • 1654: Opening of the first hostel on Alp Weissenstein
  • 1695: Bergünersteig is built, first part of the Albula Pass
  • 1860: Construction of the brickworks, today's alpine dairy (AWA)
  • 1860, Construction of the horse stables, today's summer barn (AWC)
  • 1866: Opening of the Albula Pass
  • 1871: Opening of the Albula hospice
  • 1874: Opening of the current alp building (AWD)
  • 1903: Opening of the Albula tunnel
  • 1934: Acquisition of Alp Weissenstein by the Caflisch family 
  • 1944: Land improvement of the plain and drainage of the lake
  • 1967: Acquisition of Alp Weissenstein by the Swiss Confederation for the ETH Zurich to use as research alp 
  • 1970: Creation of the new alp barn (AWS)
  • 2006: Implementation of measuring station for grassland sciences
  • 2015: Modernisation of the alp buildings, adaptation of barn facilities into the alp barn and connection to the high speed data network 
  • 2017: Take over of operational management by Strickhof as part of the AgroVet-Strickhof cooperation

History of Crap Alv

The crossing of the Albula was already mentioned as an important crossing in 800 AD, and it is know that early contracts existed to keep the crossing open. Since 1654 there has been a hostel at Crap Alv. In 1695 a part of the pass road (Bergünersteig) was built. From 1864-1866 the Albula road was built. In 1874 the current house of Crap Alv was built and used as a guesthouse and horse-changing station. Until the opening of the pass hospice in 1871, Crap Alv was the only roadhouse between Berün and La Punt in the Engadin. 

In 1903 the Albula tunnel was opened, which created a safe winter connection from Preda into the Bever valley and Engadin by train. With the opening of the rail route the post carriage over the Albula was abandoned, which changed the use of the house at Crap Alv. 

As a result the ownership of Alp Weissenstein changed several times until the Alp was bought by the Caflisch family in 1934. From 1936 they managed the Alp themselves. During the Second World War potatoes were planted and the meadows were cultivated. By 1953 12 hectares of swampland had been gained from the lake, providing valuable meadows, wich have been used by the ETH since their acquisition from the Caflisch family.  

The brickworks were in operation from 1860 to 1875, until being transfomed into an alpine dairy. 

The following photos originate from the publication of Christian Caflisch:

Weissenstein on the Albula / Crap alv : 1654-1954

Bündner Monatsblatt: Magazine for Grisons history, applied geography and building culture 535863-2, 1011-6885, -, 1954, 2, 65 1954-02-01

Historical Pictures from Alp Weissenstein

Herding down of the sheep from Alp Val Zaffretta on 1. August 2017

Once a year the sheep are herded down to the alp buildings for a check-up and they then return to the sheep pasture until they are brought down to the valley in autumn. 

Alp Weissenstein is located on the Albula Pass:

AgroVet-Strickhof
Alp Weissenstein Site
Crap Alv
7482 Preda GR

Phone: 081 256 55 84

Suisse Tier - National Trade Fair for Farm Animal Husbandry

At Suisse Tier from 22 to 24 November 2019 you will meet leading suppliers and experts from the entire Swiss livestock industry. AgroVet-Strickhof will be there, visit us at our stand. Link to the Suisse Tier Homepage

AgroVet-Strickhof Conference

The first AgroVet-Strickhof conference will take place on 1 July 2019. Secure a seat and register today.

Click here for the article

AgriTech Day

Agriculture of the Future – digital and sustainable?

Link to the article

http://www.ethz.ch/agritech

More environmentally friendly cows

Bovines eat a lot of soya and are the big emitters of greenhouse gases and the air pollutant ammonia. New feed additives for ruminants and an innovative cow toilet will help. Link to the article

Betriebsstandort Alp Weissenstein (Bergün GR)

Die Einrichtungen auf der Alp Weissenstein erlauben die Forschung an Rindvieh jeglichen Alters und Geschlechts während der Sommermonate. Im Vordergrund stehen dabei die Auswirkungen der Höhe von 2'000 m ü. M. auf die Leistung der Tiere, die Qualität von Milch und Fleisch, den Futterverzehr, die Gesundheit und den Stoffwechsel der Tiere. Die Tiere können auf bestimmten Parzellen geweidet werden sowie im 12 Plätze umfassenden Anbindestall gehalten und gemolken werden. Für Forschungsfragen an Mutterkühen und deren Kälbern kann ein Tiefstreubereich im Stall eingerichtet werden.

Fotos und Impressionen

Fotos mit Drohne am 15. August 2017 von Thomas Widmer und aufgearbeitet von Malgorzata Sitnik. Weitere Fotos von Malgorzata Stinik vom 15. August 2017

Alp Weissenstein für die Forschung

Seit 1967 besitzt die ETH Zürich unterhalb des Albulapasses im Kanton Graubünden den Betriebsstandort Alp Weissenstein, deren Weiden auf einer Höhe von 1900 bis 2600 m ü.M. liegen. Die Forschungsstation verfügt über eine Alpfläche von 234 ha Eigenland und 200 ha Pachtland und bietet Sömmerungsmöglichkeiten für zirka 150 Grossvieheinheiten (Milchkühe, Mutterkühe, Jungvieh, Schafe und Pferde) während 75 - 80 Tagen. Die Betriebsgebäude, welche auf 2000 m ü.M. liegen, umfassen neben Wohnraum für Personal und Forschende, Stallungen für den Fall eines Kälteeinbruches mit Schneefall und Futterbergeräume. Im Weiteren bieten sie die Möglichkeit, Bilanzversuche mit Rindvieh im Stall durchzuführen, sowie Laboreinrichtungen zur Probenaufbereitung. Mobile Einrichtungen, wie z.B. ein fahrbarer Melkstand und Viehwaage, ermöglichen es, Experimente auf der Weide durchzuführen. Im Jahre 2015 wurde das Wohnhaus umfassend saniert und die Alp Weissenstein ins EDV-Netz der ETH Zürich integriert. Der Kuhstall wurde innen umgebaut um flexible Aufstallungssysteme für die Forschung zu bekommen. Der Stall ist mit einem Laufhof ergänzt worden um für den Laufstallteil einen Auslauf zu haben.

Die Forschungstätigkeit konzentriert sich auf alternative Nutzungsformen von Alpweiden in nachhaltigen Nutztiersystemen sowie die physiologischen und ökologischen Auswirkungen der Alpung. Forschungsprojekte werden an Milchkühen, Mutterkühen, Aufzuchtrindern und Schafen durchgeführt. Die Lage der Forschungsstation eröffnet auch hervorragende Möglichkeiten zum Studium der hochalpinen Vegetation, welche auf unterschiedlichen Böden (Muttergestein) wächst. In einem langjährigen Ansatz werden die Spurengasemissionen aus dem Grasland über den Jahresverlauf verfolgt.

Die Einrichtungen auf der Alp Weissenstein erlauben die Forschung an Rindern jeglichen Alters und Geschlechts während der Sommermonate. Im Vordergrund stehen dabei die Auswirkungen der Höhe von 2’000 m ü. M. auf die Leistung der Tiere, die Qualität von Milch und Fleisch, den Futterverzehr, die Gesundheit und den Stoffwechsel der Rinder. Die Tiere können auf bestimmten Parzellen geweidet werden sowie im 12 Plätze umfassenden Anbindestall gehalten und gemolken werden. Für Forschungsfragen an Mutterkühen und deren Kälbern kann ein Tiefstreubereich im Stall eingerichtet werden.

Überflug per Drohne

Aufnahme mit Drohne am 6. August 2017 von Thomas Widmer und aufgearbeitet von Malgorzata Sitnik und Joël Bérard.

Meilensteine

  • 800 n.Chr.: Erwähnung des Albula als wichtiger Übergang
  • 1654: Eröffnung erste Herberge auf Alp Weissenstein
  • 1695: Bergünersteig erbaut, erster Teil Albulapass
  • 1860: Erstellung der Ziegelei, heutige Sennerei (AWA)
  • 1860, Erstellung des Pferdestalles, heutiger Sommerstall (AWC)
  • 1866: Eröffnung Albulapass
  • 1871: Eröffnung Albula Hospiz
  • 1874: Eröffnung des jetzigen Alpgebäudes (AWD)
  • 1903: Eröffnung Albulatunnel
  • 1934: Kauf der Alp Weissenstein durch die Familie Caflisch
  • 1944: Melioration der Ebene und damit Trockenlegung des See's
  • 1967: Erwerb der Alp Weissenstein durch die Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft zur Nutzung für die ETH Zürich als Forschungsalp
  • 1970: Erstellung der neuen Alpscheune (AWS)
  • 2006: Start mit Messstation Graslandwissenschaften
  • 2015: Modernisierung des Alpgebäudes, Anpassung Stalleinrichtungen in Alpscheune und Anbindung an die Hochgeschwindigkeitsdatenleitung
  • 2017: Übernahme der Betriebsführung durch den Strickhof im Rahmen der Kooperation AgroVet-Strickhof

Historisches zur Crap Alv

Der Übergang des Albula ist schon seit 800 nach Christus als wichtiger Übergang erwähnt. So sind frühe Verträge zur Offenhaltung des Überganges bekannt. Seit 1654 steht auf Crap Alv eine Herberge. Im Jahre 1695 wurde ein Teil der Passstrasse (Bergünersteig) gebaut. In den Jahren 1864-1866 wurde die Albulastrasse erstellt. 1874 wurde das derzeitige Haus der Crap Alv erbaut, welches als Gasthof und Pferdewechselstation diente. Bis zur Eröffnung des Passhospiz im Jahre 1871 war Crap Alv die einzige Raststätte zwischen Bergün und La Punt im Engadin.

Im Jahre 1903 wurde der Albulatunnel eröffnet, welcher von Preda mit der Bahn eine wintersichere Verbindung ins Bever-Tal und damit ins Engadin sicherte. Mit der Eröffnung der Bahn wurde der Postkutschenverkehr über den Albula aufgegeben und das veränderte die Nutzung des Hauses auf Crap Alv.

In der Folge änderten die Besitzverhältnisse der Alp Weissenstein mehrmals bis im Jahre 1934 die Alp durch die Familie Caflisch gekauft wurde, welche ab 1936 die Alp selbst bewirtschaftete. In der Zeit des 2. Weltkrieges wurden auf der Alp 70 Aaren Kartoffeln angebaut und Wiesland kultiviert. Im Jahre 1944 meliorierten 90 internierte Polen die Ebene. Bis im Jahre 1953 entstanden so aus dem See und Sumpfland 12 Hektaren wertvolles Wies- und Weideland. Seit dem Verkauf der Alp durch die Famile Caflisch im Jahre 1967 an die ETH Zürich, wird diese durch die ETH Zürich für die Forschung genutzt.

Spanned ist, dass das später als Käserei genutzte Gebäude als Ziegelfabrik in Crap Alv gebaut wurde und von 1860 bis 1875 als ebensolche genutzt wurde.

Bilddokumente unten sind von der Publikation von Christian Caflisch:

Weissenstein am Albula / Crap alv : 1654-1954

Bündner Monatsblatt : Zeitschrift für Bündner Geschichte, Landeskunde und Baukultur, 535863-2, 1011-6885, -, 1954, 2, 65 1954-02-01

Historische Bilder der Alp Weissenstein

Schafabtrieb von der Alp Val Zaffretta am 1. August 2017

Die Schafe werden einmal jährlich zur Kontrolle zum Alpbetrieb geholt und gehen danach wieder zurück auf die Schafweiden bis zum Alpabtrieb im Herbst.

Die Alp Weissenstein befindet sich am Albulapass:

AgroVet-Strickhof
Betriebsstandort Alp Weissenstein
Crap Alv
7482 Preda GR

Telefon: 081 256 55 84

Save the date 1. Juli 2019

Erste AgroVet-Strickhof Tagung

Präsentationen der im Jahr 2018 durchgeführten Forschungsarbeiten

Weitere Informationen

Swisscow 2018

Am Sonntag 28. Oktober 2018 fand auf dem Areal des AgroVet-Strickhof in Lindau ZH die Swisscow statt. Bei der vierten Austragung zeichnete Swissherdbook 375 Betriebe mit hervorragendem Management und/oder aussergewöhnlichen Zuchtkühen aus.

Weitere Informationen